Rural Development

rss rss twitter facebook

ND Rural Development Council


The ND Rural Development Council seeks to assist in the development of rural North Dakota communities by creating a mechanism for collaboration of leaders across the state. We encourage citizens working within the federal, state, local and tribal governments and the private and nonprofit sectors to apply for the Council to assist in the planning and implementation of programs and policies that have an impact on rural North Dakota. 

On Dec 4, 2017, Governor Burgum's Office announced the ND Rural Development Council is to reconvened.


Applications for membership are closed.

Interested individuals are encouraged to apply on by selecting “Rural Development Council" under the Boards tab. Under state law, the governor appoints members to two-year terms. In this case, half of the initial members will be first appointed to one-year terms so the two-year terms are staggered moving forward.